Tuesday, October 26, 2010

"For Colored Girls" Soundtrack Now Available For Pre-Order on Atlantic Records

I was thrilled to review the Soundtrack to Tyler Perry's upcoming movie, "For Colored Girls" (courtesy of Atlantic Records). In a nutshell, here is my review:

The songs from the soundtrack of "For Colored Girls," were expectedly “soulful” with a bit of eclectic-ness. Starting with the beautiful symphonic string tonality and spoken word which was indeed a mood setter and the revisit at soundtrack’s end, places an emphatic exclamation mark to a strong statement.

The playlist line-up includes ballad divas and is interspersed with “new women on the block” that provide a little edginess. The soundtrack whets the pallet in anticipation of an emotionally strife and tumultuous film. After listing to the album, I find it necessary to view the movie that follows the biorhythms and attempts to give visual clarity to this soundtrack that moves my soul.

Pre-Order now on Amazon and Atlantic Records.

Soundtrack becomes available on November 2.

List of Tracks:

1. “Main Title” – Loretta Devine, Kimberly Elise, Whoopi Goldberg, Janet Jackson, Thandie Newton, Phylicia Rashad, Anika Noni Rose, Tessa Thompson, Kerry Washington with Joshua Bell, Aaron Zigman & The Hollywood Studio
2. “Longer & Stronger” – Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
3. “All Day Long (Blue Skies)” – Estelle
4. “What More Can They Do” – Laura Izibor
5. “Sun” – Lalah Hathaway
6. “Ansomnia” – Zaki Ibrahim
7. “Settle” – Gladys Knight
8. “La Donna In Viola” – Karen Slack, Andrea Jones-Sojola & The Hollywood Studio Symphony Orchestra
9. “Sechita (A Senhora em Amarelo)” – Anika Noni Rose & Carondelet Percussion Ensemble
10. “Stand Up” – Macy Gray
11. “Without A Fight” – Janelle MonĂ e
12. “Four Women” – Nina Simone, Simone, Laura Izibor & Ledisi
13. “I Know Who I Am” – Leona Lewis

No comments: